Tom Holland

Tom Holland was elected to the Kansas Senate in 2008. Prior to 2008, Holland served three terms in the Kansas House. As a state senator, Holland represents rural Douglas County, Leavenworth and Jefferson Counties. He presently serves as the ranking minority member on both the Assessment and Taxation & Commerce committees and also serves on the Federal and State Affairs committee. As a member of the Kansas Senate, Tom continually works hard on those issues that are most important to the health and vitality of Kansas families and communities. He and his wife Barbara have four children: Thomas, Derek, Brandon, and Louisa.

Legislative Experience:
State Representative of the Kansas House 10th District – January 2003 to 2009
State Senator of the Kansas Senate 3rd District – January 2009 to Present
Owner and President – Holland Technologies, Incorporated (active since 1994)
Owner – Haven Pointe Winery LLC
Corporate Achievement and Recognition:
1999 & 2000 – Deloitte & Touche Kansas / Western Missouri Technology
Fast 50 Award
Indiana University, Bachelor of Science in Business Administration, Dec 1982
University of Minnesota, Masters of Business Administration, Aug 1987
Professional Certifications:
Project Management Professional™ (Since 2001)
Community Activities and Awards:
Advisory Board Co-chair, Kansas Small Business Development Center (Present)
Recognized by Kansas Disability Caucus for showing leadership to fund programs for people with disabilities (August 2003)
Member of Plymouth Congregational Church since 1996:
Annual Appeal Chairman (2007)
Stewardship Board Chairman (2006) / previously served as member
Co-founded “Gathering of Grace” contemporary worship service / previously served as music director
Coached numerous baseball and softball teams including Louie Holcom Amateur Baseball Association, Douglas County Amateur Baseball Association, Lawrence
Parks and Recreation, and Lawrence Girls Fast Pitch Association (1996 to 2001, 2007)
Webelos Den Leader (1995 to 1997)
Big Brothers / Big Sisters of Monroe County – Bloomington, IN (1981 to 1982)

Voting Information


Like us on Facebook
Follow us on Twitter
Subscribe to our
Youtube Channel
Join our Mailing List

Douglas County Democrats of Kansas